Sweet Vengeance 

Few years ago I had to make a decision which was really crucial for my future. On one hand I had fallen irrevocably in love with literature and on the other hand I was made to love everything except literature. The question was quite simple. Whether to be a medic or to be a writer.Two factors helped me take my decision.I knew that books made me happy and writing gave me great joy. I decided to follow  my heart’s call and live my passion.

Second one is a long and exciting tale.It was my science tutor who found great joy in blaming and mocking Literature in all the ways she could. According to her Literature was meant for underperforming students and for those who wanted to waste their time. Every time she started this I could feel anger bubbling inside my veins. And for this very reason I despised her. Day after day if any of her least favourite students (least favourite for her own reasons) failed to answer her she would ‘advice’ them to take Literature. That day too she was having a go at one of them ‘advising’. Once again I could feel me getting heated up. I decided to take vengeance by joining for Literature and going as high as possible and finally earning a good and gleaming job. I promised myself that only then I will see her again . I would go stand before her  with a triumphant smile and say (obvously inside my mind) that ” Here I’m back after finishing my studies in Literature. That day you made Literature a joke, today I’m standing before you by proving you wrong. All that I’m today is because of what I chose to study. I        hope now all your misconceptions about Literature is gone. I hope you realize Literature isn’t a mere time killer but much more than that.       Finally thank you for fuelling my spirit with vengeance and making me stand before you today”.. If I live upto that day it’s going to be one of the most happiest day of my life..

images-2

2 thoughts on “Sweet Vengeance 

Leave a Reply

